Uncategorized

What Happened by Hillary Rodham Clinton

“It’s up to us to make the choice to be grateful even when things aren’t going well…  To me, it means not just being grateful for the good things, because that’s easy, but also being grateful for the hard things too.  To be grateful even for our flaws, because in the end, they make us stronger by giving us a chance to reach beyond our grasp.”

Image result for what happened hillary rodham clinton

I’ve expanded my quest to read more non-fiction this year to encompass reading more non-fiction written by strong, empowering, female role models – starting with Michelle and continuing with Hillary Rodham Clinton’s “What Happened.”  I had the honor and privilege of listening to Hillary (we’re on a first name basis, too) speak a couple years ago after [what I considered] her tragic loss in the race for presidency, and she was everything I expected and more.  Tears were shed: of gratitude, of sadness, and of hope. 

I’m late to the party, but I finally finished What Happened and honestly, it was so unlike what I’d pictured.  Truthfully, I am not super in love with politics – there is so much I don’t understand, and I don’t make a great effort to keep up with the headlines.  Everything Hillary said in her campaign made sense to me, and she struck me as a competent, brave, unique individual who I thought would be an outstanding leader.  I anticipated Hillary’s book to be a cerebral summary of how she lost this election when so many of us thought she had it in the bag.  The book, however, is more of a fireside chat; it feels like I’m sitting in her living room having a frank, easy-to-understand conversation about the race, about her life, her family, the ups and downs of being a woman (not just in politics), and it was probably the best chance I’ll ever have at getting to know her!

Say what you will about Hillary Clinton, but she is a champion for women.  So many of the pages in this story are dedicated to discussing women and how difficult it can be for us to succeed.  On women: “If we’re too tough, we’re unlikable.  If we’re too soft, we’re not cut out for the big leagues.  If we work too hard, we’re neglecting our families.  If we put family first, we’re not serious about the work.  If we have a career but no children, there’s something wrong with us, and vice versa.  Can’t we just be happy with what we have?”  [This SPEAKS to me, you guys.] During the race, I had no idea how strongly people HATED Hillary Clinton – some, undoubtedly, just for the fact that she’s a woman; something she can’t change any more than you can change the color of your eyes.  She relays a quick note about her husband’s first race for governor, which he lost.  Apparently, it came out after the loss that voters were upset Hillary hadn’t taken her husband’s last name.  Isn’t that the most ridiculous thing you’ve ever heard?!  Even if you are not a Hillary fan – or find yourself indifferent – you’d enjoy this book if you are a) a woman, b) a champion of women or a feminist, and c) interested in the inter-workings of presidential campaigns.  I won’t pretend that everyone is a Clinton fan, but I do think you should give her a chance.  Hey, you might even find her likable!

Basically, What Happened is about a lot more than politics, and for that I was grateful.  The book really humanizes this character that we’ve all seen on our TVs, on the internet, in the newspaper; someone who never quite felt real to me until I had the privilege of reading this book.  I’m on the hunt for other biographies or autobiographies of or by strong women, and I would love to have your recommendations!

Even thought I have shared my thoughts on both Michelle Obama and Hillary Clinton’s books in recent weeks, I promise this won’t turn into a political blog – 1) I’m not well-educated enough to keep that going, and 2) I just want to share good books with you that might expand your horizons or pique your interest.  Personally, I am just expanding my own horizons, so thanks for sticking with me.

2 thoughts on “What Happened by Hillary Rodham Clinton

  1. “If we’re too tough, we’re unlikable. If we’re too soft, we’re not cut out for the big leagues. If we work too hard, we’re neglecting our families. If we put family first, we’re not serious about the work. If we have a career but no children, there’s something wrong with us, and vice versa. Can’t we just be happy with what we have?”

    How impactful and resonating! Love this💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment